CBA-NB Distinguished Service Award

The CBA-NB Distinguished Service Award recognizes exceptional contributions and/or achievements by any lawyer, residing in New Brunswick:

  • to the province's legal profession;
  • to the law or development of the laws in the province;
  • to jurisprudence in New Brunswick or Canada;
  • of significant law-related benefit to the residents of New Brunswick; or
  • to the Canadian Bar Association.


Canadian Bar Association membership is a prerequisite. There are no posthumous awards.


  • A letter of nomination including full details as to why the individual should receive the award.
  • A concise curriculum vitae of the nominee must be included;
  • Each nomination must be accompanied by three letters of support from CBA members stating reasons for the candidate’s nomination;
  • The full name, business & home address, telephone, fax and e-mail information of both the nominee and the three nominators shall be included with the nomination.

Please send your completed nomination to:

Denise Cameron Scott
Executive Director, CBA-NB
422 York Street
Fredericton, NB E3B 3P7


November 18, 2016

The Award will be presented at the annual CBA-NB Mid-Winter Meeting President’s Dinner in Fredericton, February 3, 2017.


  • Stéphane Viola (Bossé Viola Leblanc)
  • David Norman, Q.C. (Cox & Palmer)
  • Deirdre, Wade, Q.C.(Barry Spalding)
  • David G. O’Brien, Q.C. (Barry Spalding)
  • The Hon. Madam Justice Margaret Larlee (The Court of Appeal of New Brunswick)
  • Charles Ferris
  • Brenda J. Lutz, Q.C. (Canty Lutz Delaquis Grant)
  • Maureen Mills Q.C. (Service New Brunswick)
  • John (Jack) Walsh Q.C. (Crown Prosecutors' Office)
  • Bruce A. Noble, Q.C. (City of Fredericton, Legal Department)
  • Basile Chiasson, Q.C. (Chiasson & Roy)
  • Howard A. Spalding, Q.C. (Barry Spalding)
  • Edward Veitch (University of New Brunswick Faculty of Law)
  • Mary A. Kimball (Department of Justice, Legislative Services)
  • Charles D. Whelly, Q.C. (Patterson Palmer)
  • E. Thomas Christie (New Brunswick Nurses Union)
  • Judith F. MacPherson, Q.C. (MacPherson Mitchell)
  • Eric L. Teed, Q.C. (Teed & Teed)